International Ice Hockey Federation

Champions Hockey League

Champions Hockey League

Groups for 32-team club competition determined

Published 17.05.2017 17:42 GMT+2 | Author Martin Merk
Champions Hockey League
The draw of the Champions Hockey League was held in Cologne where the 2017 IIHF Ice Hockey World Championship is currently being played. Photo: Martin Merk
During the off day at the 2017 IIHF Ice Hockey World Championship, the groups for the Champions Hockey League have been drawn in Cologne.

For the upcoming season the CHL has been reduced to 32 teams and the clubs have been selected only by sports criteria, meaning by their performance in their domestic league.

“Fans and media will definitely be excited about the new format and be proud about the performance shown on the ice. There are some very interesting groups. There are some regional rivalries but also interesting travel like to Nottingham, which I remember for a great atmosphere,” said Martin Baumann, the CEO who drew the pucks with the various club logos from the first of four pots.

Two internationally renowned coaches currently behind the bench of two participating clubs – Sean Simpson at Adler Mannheim and Kari Jalonen at SC Bern – took care of the other pots and were joined by CHL Chairman Anders Ternbom.

“In our fourth season we want to improve the markets and bring it to more countries. We also have a standing invitation to the KHL and hope that they will in the future accept it so we can see how good they are,” Ternbom said. “It will be tougher and more exciting with fewer teams.”

The 32 teams were seeded into four different pots according to the CHL ranking for the draw to determine the eight groups consisting of four teams each.

The Champions Hockey League with the new format will kick off on 24 August with six group-stage games for each team until 11 October. The best to teams of each group of four will advance to the playoffs starting with the 1/8-finals on 31 October and finishing with the final on 6 February 2018.

Frolunda Gothenburg from Sweden has won the last two editions of the Champions Hockey League.

Here are the groups for the 2017/2018 season. For more information visit

  • Group A: Tappara Tampere (FIN), Red Bull Salzburg (AUT), Grizzlys Wolfsburg (GER), HC '05 Banska Bystrica (SVK).
  • Group B: Kometa Brno (CZE), KalPa Kuopio (FIN), Malmo Redhawks (SWE), Stavanger Oilers (NOR).
  • Group C: Vienna Capitals (AUT), EV Zug (SUI), JYP Jyvaskyla (FIN), Neman Grodno (BLR).
  • Group D: HV71 Jonkoping (SWE), Adler Mannheim (GER), Ocelari Trinec (CZE), Esbjerg Energy (DEN).
  • Group E: Vaxjo Lakers (SWE), Bili Tygri Liberec (CZE), HC Davos (SUI), Cardiff Devils (GBR).
  • Group F: SC Bern (SUI), TPS Turku (FIN), Mountfield Hradec Kralove (CZE), Nottingham Panthers (GBR).
  • Group G: Red Bull Munich (GER), Brynas Gavle (SWE), IFK Helsinki (FIN), Cracovia Krakow (POL).
  • Group H: Frolunda Gothenburg (SWE), ZSC Lions Zurich (SUI), KAC Klagenfurt (AUT), Gap Rapaces (FRA).


Back to Overview